History & Lineage
History of the Conewago Township Police Department of Adam’s County, Pennsylvania
Conewago Township, a second class township, began to experience the need for local police service in the 1950’s. The police department began with a part-time Chief of Police, Maynard “Rip” Masemer. Two part-time officers assisted Chief Masemer. In 1960, Thomas G. Carbaugh became the first full-time chief of Police. These first police chiefs used their homes as an office and were responsible for providing their own police car. As the township grew and began to rely on local law enforcement, part-time officers were added to assist the police chief. Alfred O. Dillon became the next Chief of Police, and the Township progressed into purchasing a vehicle for the police chief and part-time officers. In the late 1960’s, the Township obtained a facility for use as a Township office and police station at 285 South Street, and Charles E. Williams took over as Chief of Police. As the Township continued to experience growth, a full-time officer was added to augment the police department and further expand the services. The Township also moved to a new location at 350 Third Street, where it would continue to operate until the end of the century.
In 1977, Dennis J. Hagerman became the new Chief of Police and continued in this capacity until his retirement in 1999. During these twenty-two years, the police department continued to grow in size and in sophistication. Starting out with one full-time and two part-time patrolmen in 1977, the department provided twenty-four hour coverage by having officers on call during their off-duty hours. The department progressed from a desk in the corner of the lobby of the township building to two offices within the building. By 1999, the police department had grown to four full-time officers in addition to the Chief of Police.
The 1999, the Township and the police department began to prepare for the coming of the new century. A new municipal building was constructed next to the township maintenance shed at 541 Oxford Avenue. The police department was upgraded to a modern facility, separate from the township offices, consisting of a lobby and reception area, patrol office, interview room with holding cell, two additional offices, a locker and shower room and separate gender bathrooms. David L. Williams replaced Dennis Hagerman as Chief of Police. Chief Williams ushered in the era of computerization for the department. Four additional full-time officers, a reception clerk, and four additional police vehicles were added to the department. The rank structure of the department was also changed with the creation of a Detective position as well as a Corporal and Sergeant positions.
As the police department has grown, it has added new programs. A Neighborhood Watch Program was instituted within the last three years. Officers do foot patrols within the two schools. located in the Township. Talks are provided to the schools on crime and drug education at various times throughout the school year. Currently a bicycle patrol is being considered and formulated to better serve the residential areas. Officers have been trained in various criminal and traffic investigations. This has created a diversity among the officers and has helped the Department to be more autonomous in its service to the public.
With the growth of the Department since moving into 541 Oxford Avenue, space has again become a premium. Recently the Township Board of Supervisors has formed a committee to assess and study the need for expansion within the police portion of the municipal building.
Police Department Lineage
|Chief of Police:
Maynard "Rip" Masemer 1950's
Thomas G. Carbaugh 1960 - 1963
Alfred O. Dillon 1963 - 1968
Charles E. Williams 1968 - 1977
|Chief of Police:
Dennis J. Hagerman 1977 - 1999
|Chief of Police:
David L. Williams 2000 - 2016